Curriculum revamp

Bonjour!

As I write this, I’m in the middle of a crazy curriculum revamp across all four of the levels that I teach. When I got to my school this year, I was overwhelmed. It was my first year of teaching, and I had gotten married two days earlier (shout out to my past self for some fantastic planning on that front) and I didn’t even know where I could find my curriculum.

After a few weeks and some questioning, I found it … and it leaves, well … EVERYTHING to be desired. As language educators, we’re not in the Common Core, so currently our curriculum isn’t as nice as the subjects that are. If I’m being honest, our curriculum is a list of textbook pages and the concepts on them. That’s all. Not exactly my 90% TL cup of tea.

So, with a little help from my favorite bloggers from the #langchat PLN, I’m revamping. I decided to jump in with both feet, and I’ll talk to my curriculum director next year about a total revamp. Shouldn’t be too bad if I’ve already done the work. 

I started with this lovely post on what to do with curriculum before the school year starts, and I’ve been drooling over looking at the curriculum from both Jefferson County Public Schools in KY and Shelby County Schools in TN to help give me some ideas. I’ve also been reading, rereading, and rerereading (yeah, I just made that up) the gorgeous new Can Do statements from ACTFL. I think with the right mindset, all the way from my curriculum to my classroom, I’ll be ready to jumpstart my quest for 90%.

It’s been so helpful to read other people’s journeys and to really get a grasp of where students should be, proficiency-wise, at each level. I have so much to learn, and that’s what keeps me both excited and totally overwhelmed by this entire process.

 

Until next time …

2 thoughts on “Curriculum revamp

Add yours

  1. Hey, I just found your blog through a langchat search. I’d love to share ideas with you! I teach H/S French in Toronto, Canada. I’m also doing a curriculum re-vamp using CEFR can-do statements. Let’s chat! @jen_bibby

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑