Posters and change

I’ve been elated about all the things coming together for my classroom that it really makes me happy about how much I’ve grown since last year.

As a snippet, last year I:

  • assigned HW from the textbook that followed a formulaic pattern
  • cared if you spelled a word completely correctly, including accents (students loved the word bibliothèque!) and masculine/feminine
  • covered up words on the wall that were crucial to a quiz/test
  • hardly spoke French at all, but expected students to
  • taught so many explicit grammar concepts I thought I might die
  • was mildly annoyed when students didn’t recall aforementioned grammatical concept. I mean, how could you NOT know that verbs ending in -yer change the y to an i in the boot forms in the present tense? And that with -ayer verbs, the spell change is optional? And that I always feel like a rebel when I write “Je paye” instead of “Je paie?” THIS WILL BE ON THE TEST, PEOPLE!
from memecenter.com
from memecenter.com

Whew. That is not a fond trip down memory lane. But one thing I did note about students, even when I got there (last year was my first year) — students couldn’t express their opinions! I started the year off in AP with such excitement, only to be completely shattered when my students didn’t know how to talk about how they felt. They could tell me what they liked, but that was about all.

So, when I stumbled across this GLORIOUS post from Martina Bex over at The Comprehensible Classroom, I saw her poster with opinion words and I knew that I had to do the same. When I browse Pinterest for Education, all I see are K-5, cutesy materials (seriously, HS teachers?! We can be cute – not childish – and post our stuff too!) I see TONS of anchor charts. And I’ve been thinking lately about the merit that anchor charts could have in my class. Who cares if you spell things right all of the time if you’re using phrases like “il me semble que” when you’re a novice?! Or if you’ve got the basics of a paragraph down, but need help remembering small connectors? Second graders get to have entire words up on a word wall, why should we assume that high school students can memorize entire sets of words in all 7-9 classes a day?!

Anyway, I’ve gotten express permission from Martina to post the posters that she created, but I’ve modified them to be in French. The only ones I didn’t recreate were her question word posters, since I mentioned here that I borrowed that idea from Creative Language Class.

The first one that caught my eye was her poster about expressing opinions. I knew for sure that I’d need to have this one around: Opinions PDF

Then, I just continued with the rest of them. So here are the rest of the posters she mentions.
Conjunctions and Prepositions: Conjunctions Prepositions PDF
Common storytelling words: Storytelling PDF
Vocab for telling a story: Pour raconter PDF
Academic writing vocab: Academic writing PDF (I added grâce à to this list because it’s one of my favorite phrases to use in academic writing)
Vocab for comparing and contrasting: Comparer Contraster PDF (Yes, I used “contraster” as opposed to “s’opposer” – cognates)

(The files are just like Martina’s so that you can match the French with the English together when you post. Her pictures show you that!)

 

I would like to provide a little note before you just download them all and run from my blog:

I am not a perfect human being. So, I used the words in French that I would use in these situations, the words I would be most prone to give my students. That being said, I may have used the wrong word altogether in some places. I had the English word to go off of, and a few times I had to look up the exact meaning in Spanish, so I may have gotten the context of some of those words wrong. If there’s something that you see that needs immediate correcting, please let me know! If you would like one of the words changed, because you do TPRS (did I mention that I do not?) and you prefer to use “ensuite” to “puis” or “par conséquent” as opposed to “donc,” please let me know! I’m willing to change that and send you a copy!

As for my fonts, I almost exclusively use Kimberly Geswein fonts for my classroom – I will probably have downloaded every font she makes available by the end of this school year. In all posters, I used KG Second Chances Solid (it also comes in a sketched that I’ve used elsewhere) and in the Opinions poster, my second font is KG When Oceans Rise and coincidentally, lyrics to one of my favorite worship songs. I usually download the fonts from Dafont but you can do so from her website, and she includes instructions if you’re not familiar with downloading your own fonts. She has an awesome commercial use policy, so as long as you don’t sell these for a profit, you should be good to use them.

 

Another huge shout out to Martina for allowing me to post these resources! I’ll post some pictures when they’re up in my room!

5 thoughts on “Posters and change

  1. I’m heading into my first year and your posts have become very helpful – I’m also a French teacher. Thanks for the information!!!!

  2. I LOVE this! I teach Spanish and French, second year with TPRS. Question — when you print these off as posters, what size do you print? (I teach once/week, and have to take them down and rehang them each class.)

    1. I printed them as 8.5×11, but I would recommend using 11×17 with all the words on one page if you can! It would be a lot less cutting and pasting together if all of my words had been on one page!

      Hope that helps!

  3. Merci pour les posters. C’est effectivement dur de trouver des affiches qui ne soient pas trop “enfantines”.

Leave a Reply

