Choose a partner …

“Get with a partner and …” I’m pretty sure that most students don’t listen to instructions after these words are said because 1) they’re so excited to work with a friend of theirs, or 2) they’re terrified because they’re shy and don’t want to work with someone else.

This year, I decided that I was going to end some of the madness and chaos that is choosing a partner. I know that the shy kids won’t get over being shy because of it, but I’m thinking that it’s going to be a good step in the right direction.

You may have seen these floating around before, where students pick a partner to be their “Rouge” partner or their “Paris” partner. I went with cities so that I could work in culture! So, each students chose a different partner for each city on my list, and now I can say “trouve ton partenaire de Nantes!” and kids can group accordingly. I also got to talk about each city a little bit. I included telephone number on the two biggest cities in case students want to text each other if they missed school, or want to study/are confused about something.

I’ve included the document that I made, though I approximated the exact location of the cities myself. Also, I played around with who students could partner with. I ended up with something like this:

Paris: choose someone you know well
Lyon: choose another person you know well
Marseille: choose a student you’ve never worked with before
Bordeaux: make a boy/girl pairing (to the best of your ability)
Toulouse: a second boy/girl pairing

Camarades de classe cities

I haven’t decided about Nantes or Strasbourg, so I’m definitely up to your suggestions!

One thought on “Choose a partner …

  1. Merci beaucoup pour cette idée. Love your blog! For the other cities you might want to try something with birth dates. When I teach months, I give my students a blank calendrier (I copy one from an blank “cahier de textes” that I both several years ago). Then, students wander around and ask each other either “Tu es né(e) quand?” or “Quelle est ta date de naissance”? and fill in the dates with the student’s name. (I use this sheet throughout the year for other activities.) Your post made me think of another possible use.
    In order to turn this into partner groups, have students choose a partner who has a birthday closest to theirs, or closest to their half birthday. You could also continue with the gender groupings and make it the person of the opposite gender with a birthday closest to theirs, or closest to their half birthday.

Leave a Reply

