Authres: food!

Wow, has it really been three weeks since my last post? Oh la la, I’ve got some major catching up to do!

First on the update list: My second year of teaching has been SIGNIFICANTLY easier than my first year, for whatever reason – I don’t know if I just learned a lot last year, or if the strategies I’m using in class this year are just much better. I’ve been trying to use my “free” time to help other first year teachers, and of course, to keep up my PD through the #langchat PLN.

Secondly, the activities I’m doing in class this year are SO much better than I did last year, and I haven’t used the textbook EVEN once in the last six weeks! I’m actually really proud of that, since with 4 preps, I thought it would be difficult. It turns out that well written curriculum doesn’t require a textbook as a resource! Hooray!

As far as things go, my students have been awesome at interpreting AuthRes, and I’m getting better on the 90% front. I really should just dive in, and I know that, but there are some specifics about where I work that are holding me back. Hopefully, I’ll be attending a PD soon about TCI strategies.

Okay, onto the main part of my post: AuthRes. I rediscovered a couple of great things that I really enjoyed, so I want to share with you.

Working with my intermediates, I wanted to bridge the gap between “j’aime la pizza” and talking about health and food issues during AP. So, we’ve been talking about healthy/unhealthy foods and why they’re that way. I rediscovered the mangerbouger.fr website, and everything is FANTASTIC. The French use “steps” instead of the “pyramid,” and talking about food groups and portion sizes really worked well with my kids. They really enjoy talking about food, though not necessarily the foods they love and why they’re bad for us!

We did a jigsaw reading with the 9 different steps, found here, and if you search around the “pro” section for educators, there’s a really great document from the Programme National Nutrition Sante and the Institut National de prevention et education pour la sante, which you can download from the INPES. Next week we’ll be using this to talk about what happens when we skip meals, etc.

Then, with my novices who are talking about food, I found a menu on a post by The French Corner (find the post here) that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! It helped us to recognize cognates, and learn what goes into foods – most categories have great pictures that line up with the food descriptions! It also helped us compare France and Quebec, and the names they use for meals. I printed hard copies for students, but if you have 1:1, it’s very user friendly. Also, one student was able to share that he has had Poutines and LOVES them. :] Here’s a link to the menu – we used the “dejeuner” section.

I hope this authres is helpful for you – I’ve got to get off to parent-teacher conferences now, but I’ll try to post again soon!

Leave a Reply

