Fearless – step 3: Post a story for all to see

Okay, so I said that I’d post my story here. And even though I’m still nervous to do so, I’m going to post it anyway. Constructive criticism is the best kind, right?! Right.

So, please remember that I’m a non-native speaker, and that I’m not perfect in any sense of the word. And that while TPRS does a great job of giving three completely random structures, I do not yet possess the same abilities.

This story is intended for year three, intermediate low speakers of French.

La sculpture magique! 

Structures:

Ca me fascine
J’ai déjà vu cette pièce d’art
Ca me fait sentir ____________

Un jour, Bob et Angélique sont allés au musée d’art avec leur classe de français. Ils sont allés au Louvre à Paris ! Pendant le tour du musée, Bob a vu une sculpture très célèbre : La Venus de Milo. « Oh la la, » dit Bob, « Ca me fascine. » « Vraiment ?! » dit Angélique, « Ca ne me fascine pas ! » « Pourquoi pas ? » dit Bob. « Parce que ca me fait sentir triste. »

Dans la prochaine salle, Bob et Angélique voient une peinture très célèbre : La Joconde ! « Ca me fascine » dit Angélique. « Je ne l’aime pas » dit Bob «  Ca me fait sentir étrange. Elle me regarde. » Et puis, quelqu’un dit, « Bonjour ! » Bob tourne, et Bob voit encore la Venus de Milo ! « Angélique, » dit Bob, « J’ai déjà vu cette pièce d’art … » Mais, quand Angelique tourne, la Venus de Milo n’est plus là. Angélique et Bob courent a une autre salle.

Dans la prochaine salle, Bob et Angélique voit des pièces d’art très grands « Ces pièces me fascinent » dit Bob. « Bonjour ! » quelqu’un dit. Puis, Angélique voit la sculpture, La Venus de Milo, derrière une autre pièce d’art. « BOB ! » dit Angélique, « J’ai déjà vue cette pièce d’art. » Mais, quand Bob tourne, la sculpture n’est pas la. « La sculpture est magique ! » dit Angélique. « Ca me fait sentir étrange. »

Bob et Angélique vont partir le musée après le tour. Ils montent le bus pour aller a la maison. « Le musée me fascine » dit Angélique. « Moi aussi. » dit Bob. Et tout en arrière du bus, Bob voit La Venus de Milo ! « Angélique ! La sculpture magique est dans le bus ! » Et Angélique voit la sculpture. « Bonjour » dit la Venus de Milo. « Ca va ? » …

There is intentionally no ending to the story because I plan to have my students make their own endings to tell who the statue is/why the statue is here. We will vote on the best one.

One of my biggest fears is that I write my stories too easy for my students, but I want to make sure that the language is accessible. I think I heard once that you should use 90% of known language, 10% new structures or cognates. Is there validity in that?

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Fearless – step 3: Post a story for all to see

  1. I like the simplicity of it, and I love the magic statue, and honestly, I think it already has a great ending! The repetition, for me, is spot on, and the only thing I wonder about is maybe making sure their reactions make sense (is she sad because Venus has no arms? does the Mona Lisa make him feel strange because her eyes move?).

    Me, I think it works better to err on the side of easy. My kids who had control of the structures felt MORE confident, and the kids who didn’t get it had sort of a chance to catch up/catch on.

    1. Laura, thank you so much for your comment! I’ll definitely add the parts about why their reactions are that way (yes – you’re right about both the arms and the eyes).

      I’ve definitely been cautious of sharing my stories for those who say, “this is for INTERMEDIATES?!” so I really appreciate your feedback. :]

  2. I like how you incorporated conversation into your story; I rarely do it but it’s a good way to get those conversational phrases stuck in their heads. I also think that Laura’s suggestion is a great one!

    I do have a comment about word choice though. When I read your story for the first time, I was not sure about “pièce d’art” as I am used to “oeuvre d’art” or “objet d’art”. so I decided to run this dilemma by French exchange student at my school. She said, that the best one would be “oeuvre d’art”. The other two would be understood too, but it’s not what “they say”. As a matter of fact, she never heard anyone say either of the two even though WordReference clearly defines “objet d’art” here http://www.wordreference.com/enfr/piece%20of%20art

    Bone chance!
    A+

  3. I really admire your patience with writing these for your students. I find myself to be creativity blocked and lack the time to do these. Definitely filing for my summer to-do list. Bien fait!!!

Leave a Reply

