My first EdPuzzle!

Man, this week has been rough. But my PLN always here to bring my back up, whether it’s sharing resources, sending words of encouragement, or tweeting me flowers. I couldn’t be more thankful.

That said, I created my first EdPuzzle this week. EdPuzzle is a website that allows teachers to upload a video, clip it (if necessary), add audio commentary, and give pop up questions along the way. Then, students can watch that video, interact with your questions, play a section again if they missed it, and the teacher can see the results. This site is similar to EduCanon, but since I don’t have EduCanon premium, I enjoy EDPuzzle. Very user friendly for me, and my student could really use the listening practice – at their own pace!

What I really like is that once students have completed the video, you, as the teacher, can see individual progress, including how many times the student watched part of the clip! I think that is genius! You can also view the video as a student to make sure that your kinks are all worked out.

A screenshot of what a teacher can view on EdPuzzle - this assignment hasn't been completed.
A screenshot of what a teacher can view on EdPuzzle – this assignment hasn’t been completed. (click for full screen)

Unfortunately, EdPuzzle didn’t work on my school’s computers, and while I was prepared with EduCanon for backup, most students couldn’t change the volume or play the video via EduCanon. Man, technology is a fickle beast, and I was really discouraged by it.

Anyway, I thought that I’d share the video I made anyway. My French III students are beginning a unit on vacation, and Kirsten D. from twitter (@cardinalfrench) suggested this video. I didn’t even need to crop, I just added my questions, and voilà, complete!

Here’s the video. What do you think of EdPuzzle? Would you change any of my questions?

https://edpuzzle.com/embed/m/550206ee91314dcd17fe62cc

One thought on “My first EdPuzzle!

Leave a Reply

