First week reflection and resources

Whew. Only two days into the school year and I’m feeling a ton of different emotions! Sometimes I feel like no matter how much I plan, I always start the school year “behind.” Instead of focusing on that, I’d like to share a bit with all of you.

Successes from the first week:

  • My school rolled out 1:1 MacBooks at the HS level this year, and on day one I got to give an introduction to class using Nearpod and students gave me immediate feedback. My favorite part? I let them type out any questions they had. This way, I could read their question and answer it out loud, but no one had to raise their hand and ask a “silly” question on the first day of class!
    • I got to use my other school toy – an iPad mini, so I could circulate the room and help students understand on day 1 that my class has no “front”
  • I did a Prezi about myself 100% in French, and lots of kids told me they understood everything! :]
  • One of my French 1 students counted from 1 to 20 PERFECTLY the second day of class – he apparently learned it before – but it was an amazing leap to count in front of everyone before we even learned it. (Counting is part of this “seek and sign” that I do from Creative Language Class

Deltas (I’ll be using deltas this year in my effort to keep my language positive!):

  • Now that I have my bearings, I need to step up my classroom management for my middle schoolers in week 2.
  • I need to remember that not every student will be as tech savvy as me! Slow down the tech directions!

Next, I created some resources for the first week that I mentioned in my First week tentative plans post.

Stations: I solidified what I wanted to do for these stations, and made station cards à la CLC. I’m excited to use them for short “administrative” tasks this week to get students used to stations. My school is implementing a lot of station rotation practices this year, so I’m hoping this can get students in the station groove ASAP! As for my station printouts, I would share them with all of you here, but I don’t want to step on any toes – the CLC cards are a paid resource, and I’d prefer to get their permission before putting them out there.

Interactive syllabus: I told everyone I’d share this with you, and honestly, I almost didn’t because it’s so underwhelming. But, if you’re interested in seeing my French 2 interactive syllabus, you can view it here. I actually had to add some more information because I realized in retrospect that my infographic didn’t cover it all. You can see what else I’ve included (adapted from Colleen) in this FAQ

Prezi: If you’re interested in the Prezi that I adapted from Allison at Mis Clases Locas, you can view my version here. I tried to avoid words unless they were cognates, since the spelling of French can confuse students at first. Vowels, anyone?

Crêpe talk: You’ve probably seen Sara-Elizabeth’s taco talk over at Musicuentos, and this year, she included both the Intermediate talk, AND the French Crêpe talk! I had the honor of collaborating with her on the Intermediate version, and gave my thoughts on the Novice version. Hopefully you can use them to explain proficiency this year!

Well, that’s all I’ve got for today, but I hope to share more resources this year, instead of just my thoughts! I hope you’re all having a great back-to-school season!

Leave a Reply

