End of year reflection

Wow. I can hardly believe that this semester is coming to a close! (We still have two days next week!) I feel like it was just yesterday that I stepped into my new role of being a traveling middle and high school French teacher with 1:1 at my fingertips.

This year has taught me so much, but I’m really excited to have a break. Much like Melanie shared in her “Do ALL OF THE THINGS” post, I’m beat. I look at all of these amazing things that teachers are doing on twitter, on their blogs, on Pinterest, and I push myself so hard to be better than I am now. I have about 10,000 things on my “to do in class” list, with new ideas popping up every day.

Then I remember how social media makes me feel. These teachers MUST have terrible days where they don’t feel on their game, but I don’t see them. Clearly, all of my favorite language teachers have days where they lack creativity and students aren’t into a particular topic, but they don’t (always) blog about those. But I forget that almost 100% of the time. Much like Amy talked about the past month for me has been a “bad season.” But, as a year three teacher, I have to be content with doing the best that I can right now. I can’t expect to be as good as my year 15 counterparts, but I can do what’s right for me and my students.

But, rather than focusing on what I could be doing better, I will focus on my “jolies choses” from this school year.

  • My students are progressing in their proficiency; look at what my students wrote after just one short semester (and only one week on the topic being explained!) I love it! (PS add memes to your assessments. Your students will thank you for it.)
    Screen Shot 2015-12-18 at 10.59.18 AM
  • Technology has pushed my instruction so much this year; I feel especially better about having my Ss listen at their own pace through the use of tools like EdPuzzle! I’m definitely getting better about including visuals with these audios!
  • THE DECEMBER PROMPTS OF THE RESA ARE OVER. If you’ve never heard of this, thank goodness. It’s a crazy program the state of Ohio implemented to torture young teachers and make sure that we’re not terrible at our jobs. Check.
  • Using I can statements coupled with performance based assessments has been amazing. It’s a wonder what your students can do when they’ve been prepared for a task!
  • Standards based grading. I love it. Trying to decide if I can mix this with Proficiency-based grading or if they’re basically the same.
  • I love middle school students. I thought I was one of those “high school only” teachers, but man. These kids tug at my heartstrings and make me laugh more than I ever expected.

Goals for the break:
Professional:

  • Look into starting Real World Homework options w/ students.
  • Redo Bethanie’s big boy sheet
  • Plan for after break. Just a little.

Personal:

  • Play through an entire video game with my husband.
  • Spend at least 4 days unplugged from my phone and my computer.
  • Read at least two books. It’s time for my yearly re-read of Pride and Prejudice, at the very least.
  • Laugh uncontrollably.
  • Rest and relax (I don’t relax well. I am always go-go-go.)
  • Love on my family and friends. #extrovertsloveholidays

 

Merry Christmas to everyone! I hope that that you enjoy whatever celebrations await you this season. I’ll see you next year!

Wendy

One thought on “End of year reflection

  1. You took the words right out of my mouth on so many points here! Thank goodness for break, and thank goodness that we can be confident that we’ll continue to improve our craft!

Leave a Reply

