Bonne Année!

Well, it seems that break has come and passed, though I’m enjoying this last day off before we head back tomorrow.

Things I’m looking forward to in the next few weeks:

  • Seeing my students again
  • Finalizing my #oneword2016 (and subsequent post)
  • Going to three days of PBL PD
  • Exciting units and activities

Also, In case you were wondering about all those goals I made for the break, here’s an update:

Professional

  • Look into starting Real World Homework options w/ students. I’m starting with the Creative Language Class options this unit; you can check out all the ones they have here.
  • Redo Bethanie’s big boy sheet Nope, didn’t do that.
  • Plan for after break. Just a little. I will cross this out, but it’s still a work in progress.

Personal:

  • Play through an entire video game with my husband. Didn’t play through a whole game, though we did get ample opportunity to game together.
  • Spend at least 4 days unplugged from my phone and my computer. I did this and it was one of the most amazing things that I have ever done. My mind actually got a chance to rest and focus on only ONE thing at a time. I’m actually considering doing this weekly.
  • Read at least two books. It’s time for my yearly re-read of Pride and Prejudice, at the very least. I didn’t do this either. Oops.
  • Laugh uncontrollably. I highly recommend friendship and the game of “things” for this.
  • Rest and relax (I don’t relax well. I am always go-go-go.) See “unplugging”
  • Love on my family and friends. #extrovertsloveholidays And I miss them already.

Things that I did that didn’t make the list:

  • Spent my time without a schedule (I am notoriously bad at this. It went really well, though.)
  • Became (re)addicted to warm beverages, if only because it makes my hands warmer
  • Stopped thinking about teaching for an actually substantial amount of time
  • Made a trip to IKEA to furnish my (new) home office/teacher-y space. Isn’t it adorable? (PS a different chair is on its way, and don’t mind the mess on the side.)
IMG_3784 copy
Everything is not actually crooked. Or that’s what I tell myself.

I’m really excited about what this year has in store for me, and I can’t wait to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

